OPINION 2350 (Case 3566): Tropidolaemus Wagler, 1830 and Cophias wagleri F. Boie, 1827 (currently Tropidolaemus wagleri) (Reptilia, Squamata, VIPERIDAE): usage conserved

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:2014
Authors: ICZN
Journal:Bulletin of Zoological Nomenclature
Start Page:271
Date Published:12/2014
Type of Article:Opinion
Keywords:Nomenclature, Parias, Reptilia, Serpentes, snakes, Southeast Asia, taxonomy, Trimeresurus (Parias) sumatranus, Tropidolaemus, Tropidolaemus wagleri

The Commission has conserved under the plenary power the usage of the specific name wagleri for a species of venomous snake by ruling that the specific name Cophias wagleri was established by F. Boie (1827), and by designating a neotype. The Commission has ruled that Trigonocephalus [Cophias] wagleri was established by Schlegel (1826) as a separate taxon and not as a replacement name.

Full Text


(1) Under the plenary power:

(a) it is hereby ruled that that all usages of the name Cophias wagleri prior to that by F. Boie (1827) are unavailable.

(b) it is hereby ruled that the nominal species Cophias wagleri (misidentified as Coluber sumatranus) shall not be treated as a replacement name, but as a new available name published by F. Boie (1827);

(c) all type fixations for Cophias wagleri F. Boie (1827) prior to that by Vogel et al. (2007) of specimen MNHN 1879.0708 in Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, Paris are hereby set aside.

(2) The name Tropidolaemus Wagler, 1830 (gender: masculine), type species by monotypy Cophias wagleri F. Boie, 1827 as defined by the type specimen specified in (1)(c) above, is hereby placed on the Official List of Generic Names in Zoology.

(3) The name wagleri F. Boie, 1827, as published in the binomen Cophias wagleri (specific name of the type species of Tropidolaemus), is hereby placed on the Official List of Specific Names in Zoology.

Groups audience: 
Taxonomic Group(s): 
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith